These are our go-to resources for information, inspiration and garden supplies. Know of something else that should be on our list? Email us!

 

Gardening Websites & Blogs
A Way to Garden (http://awaytogarden.com/)
Big Blog of Gardening (http://www.bigblogofgardening.com/)
Cold Climate Gardening (http://www.coldclimategardening.com/)
Digging (http://www.penick.net/digging/)
Garden Delights (https://juliesgardendelights.com/)
Gardening Gone Wild (http://gardeninggonewild.com/)
Growing With Plants (http://www.growingwithplants.com/)
Harmony in the Garden (https://harmonyinthegarden.com/)
Red Dirt Ramblings (https://reddirtramblings.com/)
Root Simple (http://www.rootsimple.com/)
Skippy's Vegetable Garden (https://skippysgarden.com/)
The Creative Vegetable Gardener (http://www.creativevegetablegardener.com/blog/)
Seasonal Wisdom (http://www.seasonalwisdom.com/)
The Empress of Dirt (https://empressofdirt.net/)
The Enduring Gardener (https://blog.theenduringgardener.com/)
The Impatient Gardener (http://www.theimpatientgardener.com/)
The Patient Gardener (https://patientgardener.wordpress.com/)
The Small Town Gardener (http://smalltowngardener.com/)
Tiny Farm Blog (http://tinyfarmblog.com/)
Toadstools and Fairy Rings (https://toadstoolsfairyrings.wordpress.com/)
Urban Gardens (http://www.urbangardensweb.com/)
Veggie Garden Tips (http://www.veggiegardeningtips.com/)
You Grow Girl (http://yougrowgirl.com/)

Gardening YouTube Channels
California Gardening (https://www.youtube.com/user/CaliforniaGardening)
Empress of Dirt, Melissa J. Will (https://www.youtube.com/user/empressofdirt)
GrowVeg (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9r61qohBg1qgGty4_WzojA)
Jeb Gardener (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5zdi4KM3ewwfYMNo_KnU0A)
MI Gardener (https://www.youtube.com/user/MIgardener)
New England Gardening (https://www.youtube.com/user/NewEnglandgardening)
One Yard Revolution (https://www.youtube.com/user/OneYardRevolution/featured)
Patti Moreno, The Garden Girl (https://www.youtube.com/user/GardenGirltv)
Praxxus55712 (https://www.youtube.com/user/Praxxus55712)
Sensible Gardening (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCH9Do5mM_wRdesdqvDBC-kA)
The Rusted Garden with Gary Pilarchik (https://www.youtube.com/user/pilarchik)

Gardening & Plant Clubs, Societies & Associations
American Community Garden Association (https://communitygarden.org/)
American Gourd Society (http://www.americangourdsociety.org/)
American Herb Association (http://ahaherb.com/)
Botanical Society of American (http://www.botany.org/)
Cornell University's Home Gardening Website (http://www.gardening.cornell.edu/homegardening/)
Green Education Foundation (http://www.greeneducationfoundation.org/index.php)
Hobby Greenhouse Association (https://www.hobbygreenhouse.org/)
National Garden Bureau (http://ngb.org/)
National Garden Clubs, Inc. (http://www.gardenclub.org/)
Plant Amnesty (https://www.plantamnesty.org/)
Seed Your Future (http://www.seedyourfuture.org/)
The American Horticultural Society (http://ahsgardening.org/)
The Garden Club of American (https://www.gcamerica.org/)
The Herb Society of American (http://www.herbsociety.org/)
The International Herb Association (http://www.iherb.org/)
The National Gardening Association (https://garden.org/)
The National Gardening Association (https://garden.org/)
The Perennial Plant Association (http://www.perennialplant.org/)
American Daffodil Society (https://daffodilusa.org/)
American Fern Society (https://www.amerfernsoc.org/)
American Daylily Society (https://daylilies.org/)
American Hosta Society (http://www.americanhostasociety.org/)
American Irtis Society (https://www.irises.org/)
American Peony Society (https://americanpeonysociety.org/)
The Hardy Plant Society (https://www.hardyplant.org/)
Historic Iris Preservation Society (https://www.historiciris.org/)
North American Lily Society (http://www.lilies.org/)
North American Gladiolus Council (http://www.gladworld.org/)
American Dahlia Society (https://www.dahlia.org/)

Gardening Supplies
A.M. Leonard (http://www.amleo.com/)
Charley's Greenhouse & Garden (http://www.charleysgreenhouse.com/)
Fiskars (http://www2.fiskars.com/Products/Gardening-and-Yard-Care)
Garden Tool Company (https://www.gardentoolcompany.com/)
Gardeners Supply Co. (http://www.gardeners.com/)
Garrett Wade (http://www.garrettwade.com/)
Gempler's (http://www.gemplers.com/)
Green Valley Supply (https://greenvalleysupply.com/)
Growers Supply (http://www.growerssupply.com/farm/supplies/home)
Hummert (https://www.hummert.com/)
Kinsman Company (https://www.kinsmangarden.com/)
Lee Valley Tools (https://www.leevalley.com/)
Lehman's (https://www.lehmans.com/)
Planet Natural (https://www.planetnatural.com/)
The Felco Store (https://www.felco.com/)

Gardening Magazines
Better Homes and Gardens (http://www.bhg.com/)
Birds & Blooms (http://www.birdsandblooms.com/)
Fine Gardening Magazine (http://www.finegardening.com/)
Garden & Gun (http://gardenandgun.com/)
Garden Design Magazine (https://www.gardendesign.com/)
Garden Gate Magazine (http://www.gardengatemagazine.com/)
Horticulture Magazine (http://www.hortmag.com/)
Mother Earth News (http://www.motherearthnews.com/)
Sunset Magazine (http://www.sunset.com/)
The American Gardener (http://ahsgardening.org/gardening-resources/gardening-publications/the-american-gardener)
Gardens Illustrated – UK (https://www.gardensillustrated.com/)
The English Garden – UK (https://www.theenglishgarden.co.uk/)
GreenPrints (https://greenprints.com/)
Herb Quarterly (http://www.herbquarterly.com/)
Triangle Gardener Magazine (https://www.trianglegardener.com/)
Texas Gardener (https://www.texasgardener.com/)
Hortus – UK (https://www.hortus.co.uk/)
Acres USA (https://www.acresusa.com/magazine/)

Informational Gardening Websites
Kids Gardening (https://www.kidsgardening.org/)
Learn 2 Grow (http://learn2grow.com/)
Vegetable Gardener (http://www.vegetablegardener.com/)
Weekend Gardener (http://www.weekendgardener.net/)

Online Plant Information
First & Last Frost Dates by Zip Code (https://garden.org/apps/frost-dates/)
USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map (http://planthardiness.ars.usda.gov/PHZMWeb/)
Cornell University Woody Plants Database (http://woodyplants.cals.cornell.edu/home)
Dave's Garden Plant Files (http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/)
Missouri Botanical Garden's Plant Finder database (http://www.missouribotanicalgarden.org/plantfinder/plantfindersearch.aspx)
Plants for a Future Plant Database (http://www.pfaf.org/user/plantsearch.aspx)
The Audubon Society Native Plants Database (https://www.audubon.org/native-plants)
The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center's plant database (https://www.wildflower.org/plants/)
The National Gardening Association Plants Database (https://garden.org/plants/)
The Plants List, a working list of all plant species (http://www.theplantlist.org/)
University of Connecticut's Plant Database (http://hort.uconn.edu/)
University of Minnesota's Plant Information Online (https://plantinfo.umn.edu/)
USDA PLANTS Database (https://plants.usda.gov/)

Public Gardens

California:
San Francisco Botanical Garden (https://www.sfbg.org/)

Colorado:
Denver Botanic Gardens (https://www.botanicgardens.org/)

Connecticut:
Barlett Arboretum and Gardens (http://www.bartlettarboretum.org/)

DC:
Untited States Botanic Garden (https://www.usbg.gov/)
Dumbarton Oaks (https://www.doaks.org/)
Hillwood Museum & Gardens (https://www.hillwoodmuseum.org/)
Smithsonian Gardens (https://gardens.si.edu/)
United States National Arboretum (https://www.usna.usda.gov/)

Delaware:
Winterthur Museum and Grounds (https://www.winterthur.org/)

Georgia:
Atlanta Botanical Garden (https://atlantabg.org/)
Callaway Gardens (https://www.callawaygardens.com/)
Coastal Georgia Botanical Gardens (https://coastalbg.uga.edu/)
The State Botanical Garden of Georgia (https://botgarden.uga.edu/)

Iowa:
Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden (https://www.dmbotanicalgarden.com/)
Iowa Arboretum & Gardens (https://iowaarboretum.org/)
Reiman Gardens (https://www.reimangardens.com/)

Idaho:
Idaho Botanical Garden (https://idahobotanicalgarden.org/)
Idaho State Arboretum (https://www.uidaho.edu/infrastructure/facilities/arboretum)
Sawtooth Botanical Garden (https://sbgarden.org/)
University of Idaho Arboretum & Botanical Garden (https://www.uidaho.edu/infrastructure/facilities/arboretum)

Illinois:
Chicago Botanic Garden (https://www.chicagobotanic.org/)
Garfield Park Conservatory (https://garfieldconservatory.org/)
Klehm Arboretum & Botanic Garden (http://klehm.org/)
Lincoln Park Conservatory & Gardens (https://lincolnparkconservancy.org/)
Morton Arboretum (https://www.mortonarb.org/)

Indiana:
Garfield Park Conservatory & Sunken Garden (https://www.garfieldgardensconservatory.org/)
Hayes Arboretum (https://www.hayesarboretum.org/)

Massachusetts:
Berkshire Botanical Garden (https://www.berkshirebotanical.org/)
Arnold Arboretum (https://arboretum.harvard.edu/)
Boston Public Garden (https://www.boston.gov/parks/public-garden)
Botanic Garden of Smith College (https://garden.smith.edu/)
Elm Bank Horticulture Center (https://masshort.org/)
Garden in the Woods (https://www.nativeplanttrust.org/visit/garden-woods/)
Tower Hill Botanic Garden (https://www.towerhillbg.org/)

Maryland:
Brookside Gardens (https://www.montgomeryparks.org/parks-and-trails/brookside-gardens/)
Cylburn Arboretum (http://cylburn.org/)
Ladew Topiary Gardens (https://ladewgardens.com/)

Maine:
Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens (https://www.mainegardens.org/)

Michigan:
W.J. Beal Botanical Garden (http://www.cpa.msu.edu/beal/)
Fernwood Botanical Garden (https://www.fernwoodbotanical.org/)
Matthaei Botanical Gardens (https://mbgna.umich.edu/)
Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park (https://www.meijergardens.org/)

Minnesota:
Minnesota Landscape Arboretum (https://arb.umn.edu/)

Missouri:
Missouri Botanical Garden (https://www.missouribotanicalgarden.org/)

North Carolina:
Sarah P. Duke Gardens (https://gardens.duke.edu/)
North Carolina Arboretum (https://www.ncarboretum.org/)
North Carolina Botanical Garden (https://ncbg.unc.edu/)
JC Raulston Arboretum (https://jcra.ncsu.edu//)

New Jersey:
Leonard J. Buck Garden (http://www.somersetcountyparks.org/parksfacilities/buck/ljbuck.html)
Colonial Park Gardens (https://www.somersetcountyparks.org/parksfacilities/colonial/Arboretum.html)
Rutgers Gardens (https://rutgersgardens.rutgers.edu/)

New York:
New York Botanical Garden (https://www.nybg.org/)
Brooklyn Botanic Garden (https://www.bbg.org/)
Central Park Conservatory Garden (https://www.centralparknyc.org/locations/conservatory-garden)
Bailey Arboretum (https://www.baileyarboretum.org/)
Cornell Botanical Gardens (https://cornellbotanicgardens.org/)
Innisfree Garden (https://www.innisfreegarden.org/)
Planting Fields Arboretum (https://plantingfields.org/)
Queens Botanical Garden (https://queensbotanical.org/)
Wave Hill (https://www.wavehill.org/)

Ohio:
Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Gardens (https://www.fpconservatory.org/)
Chadwick Arboretum (https://chadwickarboretum.osu.edu/)
Cleveland Botanical Garden (https://www.cbgarden.org/)
Dawes Arboretum (https://dawesarb.org/)
Holden Arboretum (https://holdenarb.org/)
Toledo Botanical Garden (https://metroparkstoledo.com/explore-your-parks/toledo-botanical-garden-metropark/)

Oregon:
Lan Su Chinese Garden (https://lansugarden.org/)
Portland Japanese Garden (https://japanesegarden.org/)

Pennsylvania:
Chanticleer Garden(https://www.chanticleergarden.org/)
Longwood Gardens (https://longwoodgardens.org/)
Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens (https://www.phipps.conservatory.org/)
Scott Arboretum (https://www.scottarboretum.org/)

Rhode Island:
Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum (https://www.blithewold.org/)

South Carolina:
Brookgreen Gardens (https://www.brookgreen.org/)
Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (https://www.riverbanks.org/)
South Carolina Botanical Garden (https://www.clemson.edu/public/scbg/)

Tennessee:
Cheekwood Botanical Garden (https://cheekwood.org/)
Dixon Gallery & Gardens (https://www.dixon.org/)
Knoxville Botanical Garden & Arboretum (http://knoxgarden.org/)
Memphis Botanic Garden (https://www.memphisbotanicgarden.com/)

Virginia:
Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden (https://www.lewisginter.org/)
Green Spring Gardens (https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/parks/green-spring)
Maymont (https://maymont.org/)
Hahn Horticulture Garden (https://hahngarden.vt.edu/)
Norfolk Botanical Garden (https://norfolkbotanicalgarden.org/)

Washington:
Bellevue Botanical Garden (https://bellevuebotanical.org/)
Bloedel Reserve (https://bloedelreserve.org/)

Wisconsin:
Boerner Botanical Gardens (https://boernerbotanicalgardens.org/)
Green Bay Botanical Garden (https://gbbg.org/)
Olbrich Botanical Gardens (http://www.olbrich.org/)

Wyoming:
Cheyenne Botanic Gardens (https://www.botanic.org/)

For more public gardens, visit these websites:
American Public Gardens Association (https://www.publicgardens.org/about-public-gardens/gardens)
The Garden Conservancy (https://www.gardenconservancy.org/open-days/open-days-schedule)
Gardenvisit.com (https://www.gardenvisit.com/)

Back to Top